INSTIG8.

The job of the day14 October 2026

The same seven fields every day: six for the executive who decides, and the working set for the operator who builds and runs it.

Customer onboarding (contract to go-live), software for real estate agents, over 60 people, fully remote

Chasing each new customer from signed contract to a live website at a real estate software company of over 60 people: about 600 hours a year, and a $3,600 renewal riding on every launch

For the executive who decides

One new customer, two mornings

The same new customer, a real estate agent on a 12-month plan, followed from signing to a live website, today and redrawn. The days run from the day she signs. Who acts, in three lanes: the customer, the machine, and the onboarding specialist.

  • The customer acts
  • The machine acts
  • A person decides
  • Nothing runs

An illustration built from the company's own onboarding pages and its posting: the days are examples, and the minutes and dollars are estimates.

1The job

Taking each new customer from signed contract to a live website and lead-tracking software (the CRM): sending them what they owe, collecting it, chasing what is late, and restarting the ones who stall. Before launch a customer owes five things: the intake form, the forms that let the local listing service approve showing listings on the site (often signed by their managing broker too), a tax ID (needed to turn on calling and texting), billing setup, and feedback on the draft site. The site cannot go live until the listing service approves. A real estate software company of over 60 people, fully remote, selling websites with listing search, lead-tracking software and lead tools to thousands of agents, teams and brokers in the US and Canada. It says it has more than doubled its customers in two years. Its onboarding target is "live in under 30 days", and its one-to-one help ends on day 60 from the contract, whenever the site launches. It is hiring a full-time onboarding specialist (posted 11 September 2026; pay not stated) to be "the single point of accountability from signed agreement through CRM and website launch."

2The number today

Drive client progress by sending proactive nudges and following up via email, phone, and Zoom to ensure clients stay on track. And, in the same posting: Reignite stalled clients through persistence, solution-oriented communication, and ownership of the path forward. The posting gives no pay and no customer count. At the low end of what the company says (thousands of customers, more than doubled in two years), it signs about 40 new customers a month. Five things owed, three nudges each, 5 minutes a nudge: about 1 hour 15 minutes of chasing a customer, about 600 hours a year. At US median pay for customer service representatives ($21.53 an hour), that is about $12,900 a year, about $27 a customer.

The bigger number is the launch. Every customer signs a 12-month agreement; the cheapest plan is $3,599.40 a year paid up front. A site that goes live on day 52 gets 8 of the 60 days of one-to-one help, and a customer with no site and no training is the one who may not renew. If 1 in 20 new customers stalls and does not renew, about $86,000 of renewals a year rides on the chasing.

Estimate. The 40 a month reads "thousands" as 2,000 and "more than doubled" as at least 1,000 added in 24 months; the five things, three nudges and 5 minutes are assumed; the 1 in 20 is assumed. The company's own signing, launch and renewal counts replace all of them.

3The verdict

Hand over the reminders. Keep the call that restarts a stuck customer.

  • Hand to the machine: sending each new customer one list of everything they owe, with a due date for each and the name of anyone else who must sign, from the specialist's own address; checking each form as it arrives and asking for what is missing in the same thread; one combined reminder for all open items on day 3 and day 7, two at most; flagging any item 6 days late to the specialist that morning, with who owes it and their number; booking the website review once the listing service approves; sending the domain steps.
  • Keep with a person: the welcome call; every call to a stalled customer or about their broker; deciding that a site is ready to launch; moving a launch date; extra edit rounds, which are billed; anything about billing, a plan change, or a customer who wants out.
  • Not yet: calling or texting customers on its own; writing to a broker or the listing service on its own; promising a launch date; changing a customer's domain.

What the onboarding specialist is for now: getting a stuck customer moving, and deciding when a site is ready to go live. The machine sends the lists, checks the forms and does the reminding. The specialist's calls go to the customers who need a person.

4The bill

About $245 a month, with an onboarding platform that gives each customer one task list and emails them when a task is overdue (Rocketlane Standard, $49 a team member a month, billed annually, five-seat minimum). That is about $6 a new customer.

Other routes inside the CRM a software company may already pay for, the sales seat that sends timed follow-ups (HubSpot Sales Hub Professional) is $90 a seat a month billed annually, $270 for three specialists, plus $1,500 once. Building it is about $10 a month in model use plus 20 euros for the software that runs the steps, and then the build and the upkeep. People: a managed onboarding assistant is $1,200 a month part-time (20 hours a week) or $2,000 full-time; the chasing share of today's specialists is about $1,080 a month.

Checking: for the first 20 new customers, a specialist reads each reminder before it goes, about 2 minutes each, about 3 hours in all. After that, the check time is not known until it is counted.

Estimate. The $6 a customer and the $1,080 a month assume 40 new customers a month and 600 hours a year; three specialists, four reminders a customer and 2 minutes a check are assumed.

5Owner and off switch

The head of onboarding owns it, because days from contract to launch are the team's number. The off switch: turn off the reminder and overdue automations in the onboarding platform's settings, or pause the workflow if it is built. Open task lists stay where they are; the specialists write reminders by hand, as today. It takes under a minute. Try it once in the first week.

6The brief to hand your builder

The job: for every new customer, send one list of what they owe with due dates, check each form as it comes in, send one combined reminder on day 3 and day 7, and flag to the specialist every customer with an item 6 days late.

Today: a specialist sends separate requests, logs forms by hand, and chases by email, phone and video call. Broker signatures and draft-site feedback go weeks without anyone noticing, and launches slip past the 30-day target.

Done when: for two weeks, every new customer gets their list within an hour of signing; no customer gets more than two reminders a week; every item 6 days late is flagged that morning and the customer is called within one business day; the specialists' chasing time a customer is under half of the baseline; and fewer than 1 in 20 reminders ask for something already done.

It may never, on its own: call or text a customer; write to a broker, the listing service or a domain company; promise a launch date; change a customer's site or domain; mention billing.

You get from us: the list of what each plan's customer owes; the listing services we work with and their forms; our reminder wording; access to the project tool and the specialists' mailboxes; ten recent onboardings with their dates.

We own: the project tool account, the mailboxes, the owed-items list, the wording and the billing.

We get back: each morning, every open onboarding with its days since contract, what is still owed and by whom, reminders sent, and the list of customers with an item 6 days late.

Ask whoever sets it upA good answerA bad answer
How many reminders does a customer get in a week?One, covering every open item, and two at most before your specialist calls"One for each task, every 48 hours, until it's done"
What happens when a customer half-finishes a step?It checks what came in, names what is missing, and keeps that item's clock running"It waits for them to mark the step complete"
Who chases the broker's signature?The customer is told who must sign; at day 6 your specialist calls the customer. It never writes to the broker itself"It emails the broker directly from a no-reply address"

For the operator who builds and runs it Paid layer

7The working set
  • Trigger: a new customer's contract is signed and the project is created in the project tool, with the plan, the listing service(s), the managing broker's name if one must sign, and the specialist.
  • Steps: build the customer's owed-items list from the plan's template (intake form, listing-service forms, tax ID, billing, site feedback; the domain at launch), each with a due date; send it from the specialist's mailbox within an hour, naming any second signer; check each form on arrival against the template (all users and both staging and final URLs on the listing-service forms, service areas and logos on the intake) and ask for gaps in the same thread; on day 3 and day 7 send one combined reminder for every open item, then stop; any item 6 days late, flag to the specialist with the item, who owes it and their phone number; when the listing service approves, book the website review and send the domain steps; after launch, close the project and log the launch day.
  • Data: one record per new customer: contract date, plan, specialist, listing service(s), second signer, each owed item (due, received at, complete or what is missing), reminders sent, flags raised, call made (by whom, when, outcome), approval date, review date, launch date, days of one-to-one help left at launch.
  • Review step: the specialist reads each reminder before it goes for the first 20 customers, then 10 a week; the specialist alone marks a site ready to launch.
  • Alerts: any item 6 days late; a listing service silent 5 business days after the forms went in (its own rule is to act within five); a customer past day 30 with no launch date; a bounced email; and the wrong-but-green count, reminders sent for items already done.
  • If it breaks: what you see: customers say they never got the list, get the same reminder twice, or are reminded about a form they already sent. Check first: the mailbox connection is still authorized; the specialist's address is not landing in spam; the form's arrival is being recorded on the item. Safe fix: turn the automations off; the specialists remind by hand, as today.
  • Cost per new customer: about $6 with the onboarding platform ($245 a month over 40 customers); about $0.25 in model use if built (Claude Sonnet 5.5), plus the workflow runner, 20 euros a month at this volume.
  • Baseline, before switch-on: the next 20 new customers, by hand: days from contract to each item received, nudges sent per item, the specialists' minutes chasing (time it, do not ask), days to launch, days of help left at launch, and how many pass day 30 without a launch date.

Estimate. The cost per customer assumes 40 new customers a month, about 80 open at once and 25 model calls a customer. The baseline replaces all three.

Tools by name: Rocketlane Standard ($49 a team member a month billed annually, five-seat minimum, unlimited customer members, 200 automation runs a user a month; overdue-task trigger with a send-email action); HubSpot Sales Hub Professional ($90 a seat a month billed annually, $100 monthly, $1,500 one-time onboarding; sequences from the specialist's mailbox); VA Hub PRO ($1,200 a month part-time, $2,000 full-time); built: the specialists' Google or Microsoft mailbox, Claude Sonnet 5.5 ($2 per million tokens in, $10 out), n8n (Starter 20 euros a month with 2,500 executions, Pro 50 euros with 10,000, billed annually).

The operator's map

The middle is the launch call: whether this customer is on track, what will get a stuck one moving, and when the site is ready to go live. The onboarding specialist holds it.

The same job as a system. The middle is the launch call, held by the onboarding specialist. The list of what is owed goes out on the left; forms are checked, reminders sent and stalls flagged across the top; any customer still stuck drops to the specialist on the right, who calls. Along the bottom is what it runs on: the switch and the cap, the counts, and the lists it works from.

  • Runs on its own
  • A person does it
  • The judgment it all depends on
  • What it runs on

Sources

  1. A real estate software company's Customer Onboarding Specialist posting: "over 60 employees", "fully remote", "the single point of accountability from signed agreement through CRM and website launch", "sending proactive nudges", "Reignite stalled clients", the five deliverables, pay not stated (posted 11 September 2026)
  2. That company's onboarding guide: live "in under 30 days", depending on the customer's forms and feedback; one-to-one help fixed to day 60; the customer submits the listing-service paperwork; two edit rounds (help center, 11 August 2026)
  3. The full version of that guide, referenced in its service agreement; the coordinator offers "reminders"; calls on a set cadence
  4. That company's listing-approval help: no launch before approval; missing details delay it (13 February 2026)
  5. That company's prices: $299.95 a month on the cheapest plan, 12-month agreement, "thousands of real estate agents"
  6. The national realtors' association's listing-display policy: requests "must be acted on by the MLS within five (5) business days" (handbook, 1 January 2026)
  7. A listing-display vendor's partner guide: "the broker signature can take the longest"; a lapsed account means redoing the paperwork (updated 26 July 2023)
  8. The same vendor's customer help: approval "can take 1-2 weeks"; a missing confirmation usually means waiting on the broker (updated 25 July 2024)
  9. Another listing-display vendor's guide: most boards approve in 3 to 7 days; the client's own call has "more sway than anyone else" (undated)
  10. Median pay of $21.53 an hour for customer service representatives (US Bureau of Labor Statistics, wages for May 2025)
  11. The release date of those wages, 15 May 2026
  12. An onboarding software maker's survey: 56.7% of onboarders spend 2 to 5 hours a week on follow-ups and reminders; 74% find holding customers to their part a challenge (January 2023)
  13. An onboarding platform: $49 a team member a month billed annually, minimum of 5, unlimited customer members, 200 automation runs a user a month
  14. The same platform's help: an overdue-task trigger and a send-email action
  15. A CRM's sales seat with timed follow-ups: $90 a seat a month billed annually, $100 monthly, $1,500 one-time onboarding (its own pricing guide, 9 September 2026)
  16. A managed onboarding assistant: $1,200 a month part-time, $2,000 full-time (updated 24 August 2026)
  17. Building it, the model: $2 per million tokens in, $10 out (Claude API pricing)
  18. Building it, the workflow runner: 20 euros a month with 2,500 executions, 50 with 10,000 (n8n pricing)
  19. Reminders per task left clients "irritated and ignoring your emails"; cap them, and "The third touch should never be automated" (an onboarding software maker's founder, 24 February 2026)
  20. An onboarding chain that waited for each step: "Three hundred users signed up in the first week. Only nineteen completed onboarding." (a builder's write-up, 22 January 2026)

Read 14 October 2026 unless a date is given.

Estimates name their figures: 40 new customers a month (sources 1, 5, reading "thousands" as 2,000, assumed); 600 hours, $12,900 a year and $27 a customer (source 10, and five things owed, three nudges and 5 minutes a nudge, assumed; source 12 as a cross-check); $210 lost on one late launch (source 5); $86,000 of renewals (source 5, and 1 in 20 stalling and not renewing, assumed); $6 a customer (source 13); build cost (sources 17, 18, and 25 model calls a customer, assumed); time back (an assumed 25 minutes a customer after switch-on).

Send us your job